Coastal Scents Review, Swatches & Look

coastalscentswatchreviewlook

As promise I have a more in-depth review of my Coastal Scents Haul + Unboxing previously posted here and I also have a make-up look I have created using the products I purchased!

coastallook1

Products Used:

Face:

  • Revlon Nearly Naked 110 Ivory
  • Glamoflauge Heavy Duty Concealer in Light
  • Rimmel Stay Matte Powder in 011 Creamy Natural
  • NYC Smooth Skin Bronzing Face Powder 720A Sunny
  • Physician’s Formula Happy Blush in Pink
  • Wet n Wild Fergie “To Reflect” Shimmer Palette

Brows:

  • Covergirl Eye Enhancers (Some sort of Brown? The color label is gone)
  • Essence Clear Mascara/Brow Gel

Eyes:

  • Maybelline Color Tattoo Metal 24HR Crème Shadow in 70 Barely Branded (Base)
  • Covergirl Eye Enhancers in Champagne (for inner corner highlight)
  • Coastal Scents Hot Pots in: Boca Mocha, Flesh Tone, Aluminum Taupe, Cherry Chocolate
  • NYX Glide-On Eye Pencil in SL07 Jet Black
  • Coastal Scents Liquid Eyeliner in Jet
  • L’Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes Excess

Lips:

  • Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in “Smitten”

coastallook2

Now for my reviews!

LIQUID LINER:

coastal scents liquid eyelin

I swatched this liquid liner in the shade “Jet” on my wrist last night and it is now the night of the next day. It survived vigorous rubbing, water, soap, a SHOWER and being slept on yet it is still almost exactly the same way it was when I first swatched it. I’m incredibly freaking impressed.

                       jet jet

  The applicator is felt tip which is good and bad. It’s a bit difficult to apply but it is easier to control than a brush. The eyeliner stayed on all day and did not fade or smudge.

jetbrush

It barely faded and it didn’t smudge! Showerproof, waterproof, sleep-proof…amazing! I bet this eyeliner could survive a freaking nuclear holocaust. I’m honestly incredibly impressed—this eyeliner was also a huge steal at only $1.48 although usually it’s around double that price (that’s still very inexpensive!) , Coastal Scents always has amazing deals.

HOT POTS & INTERCHANGEABLE PALETTE:

hotpot2

I chose each color individually and I loved that. I was able to choose four colors that I wanted in my own palette. I got each Hot Pot on sale for $0.98 and the 4 Piece Interchangeable Palette was $1.98. Even not on sale, they are fairly inexpensive.

                                 IMG_5920.2014-12-19_022408 IMG_5921.2014-12-19_022427

  Each color easily magnetically clicked into the 4-pot palette and the palette had a nice mirror and a tiny brush (which we all know will never be used unless direly necessary).

hotpotswatcj

These swatches are not the greatest (it was night time) but the color payoff for each color was not bad. They all blended very nicely, but Flesh Tone was less pigmented than the others. My favorite was definitely Aluminum Taupe; it’s such a unique color it’s a silvery nude.

252 ULTIMATE PALETTE:

coastal265

   I so do not have the time to swatch all of these! My major con is how difficult it is to open—there is a snap closure that is very hard to open. I had to use tweezers or the end of a makeup brush to open the palette.

I paid $12.48 on sale for this palette and it’s worth the price I paid, maybe a bit more. The colors I swatched seemed to range, again, from mildly pigmented to highly pigmented.

I like the ribbon that allows for each palette to be easily removed from the case and the packaging is surprisingly nice although it is very simple and plain black. The palette casing itself is surprisingly slim as well—it’s about the thickness of a marble notebook. Each color is about the size of a dime, which sucks, but I doubt I’ll ever use up any color.

coastal2651 coastal2652 coastal2653

This palette has every color I can think of. The top layer consists of vibrant blues and greens, the middle of vibrant reds and pinks and oranges and the bottom of more neutral muted colors. Each layer has various neutrals mixed throughout. There is a mix of shimmers and mattes.

There are some hits and misses but ultimately it’s a great buy for someone just starting in makeup. It’s a fun palette to play with and it’s not a crazy price.

CLASSIC BLENDER POINTED NATURAL BRUSH:

coastalbrush

   I paid $1.48 on sale for this brush and I am quite impressed. It works like a dream and the angled shape makes it the perfect crease brush. It’s also incredibly soft!

FINAL VERDICT: 

I would absolutely purchase more Costal Scents products. I did not get to use the 252 Ultimate palette very much but most of the colors I swatched seemed mildly pigmented or higher.

Their hot pots applied very smoothly and gave off a fairly nice color pay off, although I was very unimpressed with Flesh Tone.

The Classic Blender Pointed Natural Brush is excellent for crease shading and is incredibly soft. I definitely would love to try more Coastal Scents brushes.

I would definitely repurchase all of these products BUT I would probably try some new Hot Pot shades rather than repurchasing the ones I have (minus Aluminum Taupe).

Leave a Reply

