The Great Make-Up Purge of 2015…

As a make-up hoarder, my make-up collection has absolutely gotten out of hand. I have decided for a fresh, new year and for the sake of sticking to my resolution to simplify, I am going to purge my make-up collection and toss some old products. With an empty bag in hand (for some reason, whenever I have a bag to put garbage in I feel morally obligated to throw away more things in order to fill the bag), I began scouring each drawer for things to toss.

THE GREAT MAKEUP PURGE OF 2015

Face//

For the face category I only managed to purge one item, but considering I do not own many face products to begin with, I’m proud of myself. My one purge is an old favorite Revlon ColorStay Foundation. The foundation has solidified in the bottle. Disgusting. Told you I was make-up hoarder.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/571/80840062/files/2015/01/img_6508.jpgLips//

For this category I ended up purging 5 products.  Two of these are ancient Lip Smackers that I finally decided to part with (despite nostalgic values). I own every EOS lip balm in existence and I use them daily; I haven’t touched these in months. I also parted with some lip glosses–I hate lip gloss. It’s sticky and gross and doesn’t last long. Disgusting.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/571/80840062/files/2015/01/img_6507.jpg

Eyes//

I definitely own the most eye products out of all kinds of make-up products. Something about eye make-up really draws me in, plus my eyes are my favorite feature and I’m always more inclined to play them up.

For eyeliners, I purged a dried-out liquid felt tip one I never use and an old e.l.f pencil./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/571/80840062/files/2015/01/img_6511.jpg

I quite literally own over thirty mascaras and I decided these needed to go. Most of them are dried out or smell funky and I constantly buy new mascaras–they’re my weakness. I have parted with 11 mascaras and it was incredibly hard for me but my eyes will surely thank me for choosing to not risk putting old, bacteria-infested mascara near my eyes. (You’re welcome for that sweet image)./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/571/80840062/files/2015/01/img_6510.jpg

I have tossed two single eye shadows. One is a bronze cream shadow that has since gotten very un-creamy (plus, I hate cream shadows. They’re so hard to apply when you have long nails, Ick!) and a lime green NYC shadow that is very poorly pigmented. I also tossed two e.lf. palettes. I have doubles of one (I don’t know why, I never use it) and the colors in both have shitty pigmentation and I know I’m not going to use them.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/571/80840062/files/2015/01/img_6505.jpg

It is SO important to toss old make-up and I’m definitely terrible at it. I ended up tossing 23 products and I’m proud of myself. Toss make-up that smells odd, is incredibly old or is suckish and you won’t use it. Then, use it as an excuse to buy new make-up, hehehe.

2 thoughts on “The Great Make-Up Purge of 2015…

Leave a Reply

