Under $10: DIY Earring Holder (Earring Box)

  Ever since I got my ears pierced in December (Yes, I was a bit late hopping on the ears-pierced-bandwagon) , I’ve been looking for a cute, inexpensive and compact way to store my earrings. This cost less than $10!

diy earring box

There are a lot of jewelry box options and hanging displays but these are problematic: jewelry boxes are expensive and usually are for a lot of types of jewelry and hanging displays are best suited for dangling earrings, of which I have none.

I was in Michael’s the other day and I spotted the cutest arrow-patterned wooden box for $5 and I knew I just had to have it! It was the perfect size for earrings and I knew I just had to convert it into a box for my earrings.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/571/80840062/files/2015/01/img_6615.jpg

This project only cost me $6 and it was so simple. It took 15 minutes, tops!

 
For this project you will need:

  • A wooden box (this can be found at Michael’s)
  • Felt/Velvet (The amount depends on the size of your box. I only used one sheet.)
  • Foam (This is optional; I used this to stuff on the bottom of my box so I would use less felt.)
  • Hot Glue (This is also optional, if you pack the rolls tightly enough it’s not needed.)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/571/80840062/files/2015/01/img_6614.jpg

To use less felt, I put two pieces of foam cut to the size of my box. Next, I tightly rolled up pieces of felt and stuffed them in my box. Make sure they are tightly packed!

It’s optional to use hot glue to secure the rolls in your box but it stays without the hot glue and without the hot glue the box can be reused for other purposes.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/571/80840062/files/2015/01/img_6616.jpg

This DIY is so easy and cost less than $10! It’s also a cute and compact way to store earrings. I’m so happy with how this turned out and I can now safely and cutely store my studs!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/571/80840062/files/2015/01/img_6613.jpg

Let me know if you try this DIY project!

Leave a Reply

