5 Quotes I Love…

As a Journalism major it’s quite obvious that I’m very much a lover of words. My door is plastered with over 150 of my favorite quotes that somewhat inspire me and I’ve decided to share some in this post!

quotes

The first quote is the one I’ve turned into a pretty graphic just above this text. I love this quote because it’s incredibly true. Doubt is something that can just anchor someone down and stop them from even trying. Failing sucks but never even trying could be even worse.

“Worry is a misuse of the imagination”

I adore this quote because I’m someone with a vivid and active imagination and I find that I worry a lot and imaginations aren’t meant for conjuring up reasons someone isn’t answering you (They hate me! They’re being held hostage! They’re plotting my murder!). That’s misusing imagination.

“If, then, my awareness of the past and future makes me less aware of the present, I must begin to wonder whether I am actually living in the real world” –Alan Watts

I love a lot of quotes from Alan Watts. I find this to be entirely true. I spend a lot of time thinking about the future or about past events and it is quite true that if you’re too caught up in those things you’re hardly actually living in the present.

“Do not be so sweet that people will you eat you up, nor so bitter that they will spit you out”

I love this quote because I find it’s important to balance the kind of person you are. Being overly sweet can mean becoming a pushover that people just take advantage of but being too bitter is a danger because it will be harder to form bonds with people and be liked. One must be a balance of bitter and sweet.

“Do you wait for things to happen or do you make them happen yourself?” –Charlotte Eriksson

One of the biggest things I’ve learned in life is that it is up to you to make things happen for yourself. Nearly every good thing in my life is something I had to make happen for myself. My boyfriend? I went up and talked to him and confessed my feelings. I made it happen instead of waiting around. My internship? No point in waiting around for someone to find you! I applied for CollegeFashion and I’m so happy to be interning there! The best things in life are things you make happen. It’s an amazing feeling to go out and get things. You won’t always succeed but when you do it’s even better because you did it yourself.

What are some of your favorite quotes? 

Leave a Reply

