I Was Published in Seventeen Magazine Online!

My article was shared to millions of people and I was the first reader to be published on their site. It’s safe to say I’m freaking out. (See my article here)

17 mag

Anyone that knows me well is definitely aware that my absolute dream job is to write for Seventeen magazine. It’s my ultimate goal, I can just picture the glamorous NYC office with the huge beauty closet and racks of clothing and a little cubicle with glitter…Okay, I mean, maybe I’m getting ahead of myself. I ultimately dream to write for any sort of beauty/lifestyle publication (whether it be online or print) but Seventeen has been my number one since I was a mere child.

The Seventeen Twitter was looking for fan reactions to Zayn’s leaving One Direction and thus I typed a personal sort pof piece, not thinking it would actually even be read at all.

But then the lovely editor, Miss Benson, e-mailed me back saying she loved my story and wanted to publish it. I was so so excited I actually squealed. She told me I was the first reader article to be published on Seventeen. I got to kick off Seventeen’s publication of reader articles! 

It was posted and I freaked out. Literally freaked out. I couldn’t stop smiling and so many kind folk tweeted me saying I helped them deal with the Zayn leaving situation (which I’m still sad about and will never totally get over) and it got over 13,000 and counting shares across social media!

MY NAME IS IN SEVENTEEN MAGAZINE ONLINE. SEVENTEEN MAGAZINE LOVED SOMETHING I WROTE. I had to caps lock a bit, I’m still so hyped. I’m pretty sure my article was all I talked about that day. Can you believe it? I feel like this is my first big break in the online writing world, you know? Plus, the fact that what I had written was, honestly, unedited by me and just quite raw and real really made me happy.

This is undoubtedly one of the coolest things to happen to me–and I think Seventeen was very amused by my enthusiasm. They RT’d my tweets about being really freaking excited. Seventeen and some of their editors follow me on Twitter now. I must try to control my freaky tweets about wanting to roll Zac Efron in a tortilla (I’m weird and have no filter, in case you have not noticed.)

So basically Seventeen gave me an extra burst of hope and drive for pursuing my dream career. Seeing the positive feedback from my article and seeing it on the hugely popular publication (over 3.5 million Facebook followers!!) was truly an amazing experience. I’m so excited for my future and this is just an amazing start!

Leave a Reply

