My Zumba Experience: What Zumba Taught fiMe

Okay, so, my college offers free Zumba classes. FREE. I’ve also been trying to be more active and thus I dragged my friend to Zumba with me and let me tell you Zumba kicked my ass. It also made me realize many things about myself. It also made me realize that I totally suck.

zumba

First of all, I cannot remember choreography to save my life, Zumba requires a small amount of memorizing. You basically mirror the instructor’s moves but you must be able to anticipate the next move. Does that make sense? I do have rhythm and I understand the moves but I am awful at remembering. Well, I have terrible short-term memory apparently. I also cannot grasp certain moves. I didn’t realize how terrible my short-term memory was until I attended Zumba. Luckily, I was not the only one who was kind of WTF during some moves. Other people messed up or got confused, too, bless their hearts.

Second of all, Zumba is intense. I’ll be honest, in my head I was like “haha dancing this is barely gonna be a workout” but after about five minutes I was absolutely wrong. I drank more water during and after Zumba than I had all day combined and I also was actually sweating. I know, I know, I sound like an ass, I mean “actually sweating” you’re probably thinking that, duh, you’re going to sweat. But I generally don’t sweat very much when I work out–probably because I try not to exert that much energy. I generally spend a lot of time doing mild workouts rather than doing hardcore workouts. I’m not a fitness rolemodel, I know, but I’m trying! I also am that bitch that works out with make-up on. I can’t be bothered to take it off. Don’t hate me because I’m lazy. I’m also pretty sure I burned a million calories at Zumba. Yeah, a million. Wow.

105

Third of all, Zumba is kind of fun. It’s fun because you get to dance to cool songs and feel like a professional dancer learning choreography for a famous person’s performance. Sort of. You can pretend. But let’s pray that no celebrity ever has backup dancers as shitty as I.

Lastly, Zumba is not going to be a weekly thing. Listen, Zumba is an amazing workout and it’s super intense but attending it weekly is not plausible. Well, it is. Weekly isn’t a huge demand. I’m just busy with work (that’s an excuse, I can make an hour of free time for Zumba). I’m just a little bit too lazy for Zumba, I’m being real. Also, you get super sweaty so sometimes I just washed my hair and showered and am not feeling doing that again. I think I’m just going to continue minimally straining myself at the gym a few times a week and doing blogilates on YouTube. This won’t get me that “dream bikini body” but it will basically help me maintain how I am now. That’s fine, right?

I have basically discovered that I have drive for a lot of things–becoming a writer, getting good grades, getting internships…but I have minimal drive when it comes to being super healthy. My personal workout routine consists of going on Pinterest and pinning healthy recipes and workouts that I will likely do/make once or not at all while I workout on the elliptical for an hour and maybe sweat a little. Also, doing some squats. I love squats, maybe I’m a sadist.

I think I mainly workout to wear cute gym clothes. Forever 21’s new fitness line is really cute. Plus I got new Nikes. Yeah, wow, from reading this post alone you can really tell how weak my fitness game is. Talking about fashion and writing about working out rather than doing it. That’s me, folks!

Leave a Reply

